Injured runner: Not a swimmer but a swimmer

I don’t know who I am anymore.

I’ve been prioritizing my after-work swims as diligently as I used to prioritize my marathon training runs.

I’m not a swimmer so this is a big deal.

In the last week, I have swam — or is it swum? — 5 times.

This is a big deal.

I usually arrive to the pool around 4:40 p.m. every day after work. I’d like to think of myself as a regular just like the handful of “real swimmers” I always see. We exchange head nods or smiles. Sometimes I muster a “How are you?” or “Hello” but other than that, I keep to myself and just swim laps.

My “routine” consists of swimming breast stroke out and then the crawl back. I do this over and over until I get tired and then will swim with the kick board for five laps or so. I do all of this for a total of 36 to 40 laps. (Thirty-six is the minimum number to swim one mile at the pool I frequent).

I’ve gone on runs in the past that have felt bad, or even horrible. But, unlike running, with swimming I never have a bad one.

Maybe it’s because just getting out to swim is a victory for me. I’m spoiled with being able to go to an outdoor pool for my lap swimming and I think being outdoors really makes a difference. On the few days where I have to hit the gym and use the stationary bike (because of scheduling time constraints) rather than go to the pool for a swim, the gym feels torturous.

But, just keeping active while being injured is doing wonders for me.

It still sucks to not be able to run, but at least I can still do something.

That something of choice right now is swimming in the Seattle sunshine.

Leave a Reply

