The comeback I’m too scared to talk about

I went in to see my orthopedic doctor hoping for “good news.” Maybe he would say that my knee pain is just runner’s knee (I know, despite not running) and that I just need to work on strengthening specific muscles again. Maybe he would tell me to rest another month and then I would be good to go on running.

He told me that he is concerned that I am experiencing pain now when I hadn’t been prior to a month ago. He wants me to get another MRI — this time with contrast so that he will be able to tell exactly how much longer my injury will take to heal or if it is something more significant that will need “screws put in.”

And, of course this visit was Thursday morning and the MRI office didn’t get authorization from my insurance to schedule the appointment until later that afternoon. Now I have to wait until after the new year to get the MRI done because I will soon be out of town.

The wait continues.

More doubt ensues.

What if I’m not healthy enough to run my “comeback race” that I registered for a month ago?

Yes, I had signed up for The Tenacious Ten. 

The race is being put on in partnership with Oiselle, so, how could I not knowing many of my teammates and friends would be getting their race on together on April 22?

Now, this race seems like a long shot.

I have no idea when my comeback will be.

I’m too scared to talk about it.

 

2 thoughts on “The comeback I’m too scared to talk about

  1. Thank-You for sharing, this is very honest.I suffered a major back injury 7 months ago and still do not totally understand the future of running, its hard especially when we build even our social connections around the running community. You are definitely not alone.

    • Thank YOU for reading and commenting! It’s always nice to hear you are not alone (esp. since yes, it feels like everyone around is running or talking/posting about running). I’m sorry to hear of your injury, take care and happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

