112 days

I’ve been pretty tired as of late.

Oddly enough, I haven’t even had the energy to attempt to go on a run.

Don’t get me wrong, I really want to run. I don’t want to be injured anymore. (Or, think that I am injured anymore).

Every time I hear a friend or coworker say they are skipping their run because it’s “too dark” or “too cold” outside, I’m internally giving them the side-eye. I’d love to be running in that darkness. I’d be fine layering up and running in cold temps.

So, why haven’t I tried going out for a run when two weeks ago, I was pretty certain I would have given it a go by now?

Honestly, I’m scared. I’m worried that I will have immediate knee pain as soon as I take my first steps on the run. I’m nervous that it will be a run full of pain. Also, I’m really out of shape so I’m just worried about the fatigue of it all. I know I’ve gained a good number of lbs. over the past three plus months of not running, which I don’t feel good about.

During the summer, I was good about swimming on a somewhat regular basis, but then my seasonal pool closed. As fall approached, I got into the habit of not really working out. That gym I was supposed to join? It didn’t happen. It was too expensive. Or, it didn’t have a pool so I didn’t know what the point in joining would be … am I just making excuses?

Probably.

Leave a Reply

