I’m not a runner

Being injured has given me some new perspective/insight on my existence. (I know, this sounds really deep, right?)

It’s been a little over a week since I have officially known that I have a stress fracture in my knee. (And a little over three weeks of not running at all).

Seattle Half 2012

I never realized how much others perceive me as “a runner” until now.

I attended a fundraiser event with friends at the Columbia Tower last Thursday and there were a few friends of my friends who immediately brought up running with me. I’ve met these people once or maybe twice and they aren’t asking me how work is going or how living in Maple Leaf is, it always comes down to running. That’s the first “quality” they remember about me: running.

Now that I am injured, I don’t know what to think about it.

It’s one thing to whine and complain about being injured to your fellow running friends and teammates. It’s another thing to have to explain it all to those who don’t run. I feel like I’m bringing the party down. I’m lowering team morale. I feel like it’s something that shouldn’t be discussed. People who don’t run don’t want to hear about how you went to physical therapy for two-and-a-half months for a presumed IT band injury and how you apparently ran your full marathon in June on a stress fracture in your knee.

A friend told me about an article about an Olympian swimmer whose mother told her that she is a person who swims. Her mother didn’t want her to grow up and only think of herself as a swimmer. Because one day she won’t be a competitive swimmer.

Tacoma Narrows Half 2013

I know I can’t compare myself to an Olympian but I understand that concept.

I don’t want to be a runner. I want to be known as a person who runs. (Well, right now I guess I am a person who is resting and will soon be running again).

There’s so much more to me than running. Even though it’s something that is an important part of my life — which I spend a lot of time and energy on — I still possess other qualities and do other activities.(Like, hang out with Hello Kitty at Costco!)

If you only know me from this blog, then yes, it may appear that the only thing I ever do and talk about is run.

But, I’m learning that I’m not just a runner. And, I’m OK with that.

 

4 thoughts on “I’m not a runner

  1. Great post! I definitely fall in to this as well. Whenever I see somebody I haven’t seen in awhile the first question they ask is, “When is your next race?” I am hard pressed to come up with other hobbies/interest I have besides running… It is a part of me, but I would much rather be a person who runs!

    Wishing you a speedy recovery and hopefully you will be out running in no time!

    • Thanks Marilyn, I appreciate it. I’ll take this time by working on strengthening my brain by reading more maybe!
      Good luck with the rest of your half training. Looking forward to running together soon enough 🙂

  2. I had a very similar experience with my injury at the beginning of this year. I’m not saying running defined me, but its loss (due to injury) was a huge blow and made me realized I put a lot of my life and identity on it. In retrospect though, I almost feel like it was a blessing to have had the injury. It made me think of other non-running things for a change and kind of pulled me away from the way running starts to all encompass life and identity. Maybe you found some of this to be true too. Hope your injury is healing!

Leave a Reply

