Injured Runner: Receiving confirmation that you are an injured runner

If you had asked me a week ago about running, I would have responded with something like: Oh, I haven’t been running recently because I am sort of injured.

If you ask me today, my response is: I am injured.

I went to see the orthopedic doc this morning to go over my MRI scans of my left knee.

Good news: No tears, I won’t be needing surgery!

Bad news: I have a stress fracture.

A stress fracture had not been discussed and was therefore nowhere on my mind, so it was unexpected news.

“When I was reviewing notes before your visit, I thought to myself I don’t want to tell her she can’t run,” the doc said. Since he’s also a marathoner, he understood my (emotional) pain.

My stress fracture could take anywhere from 2-6 months to heal. I can’t really comprehend not being able to run for that amount of time. At least I am OK’d to bike, swim and hike for now.

Maybe I’ll work on getting a six two-pack.

In all honesty, I’m surprised I haven’t cried at all today. Even though I know it’s not the end of the world and I will be back stronger than before, it’s still a horrible feeling.  But, at least now I finally know the true cause of my knee pain.

I have more thoughts about the situation, but I don’t feel like writing anymore tonight.

Don’t worry, you’ll be hearing more from me soon.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Injured Runner: Receiving confirmation that you are an injured runner

  1. Pingback: Being an injured runner who doesn’t act like an injured runner – Ready, set, KO!

  2. Pingback: The Trail Mixers take on Ragnar Trail Cascades – Ready, set, KO!

  3. Pingback: The Trail Mixers take on Ragnar Trail Cascades – Ready, set, KO!

Leave a Reply

