Injured runner: One step (and stroke) at a time

It is evident that when I’m not running, I do not blog. (After all, this is a mostly running blog!)

But, since you’re probably dying to know what I have been up to, this is the run down. (Sigh, run down …)

Is physical therapy still happening?

Yes, I am going to PT once a week. I continue to work on glute and hip strengthening exercises. Last week my PT did some resistance tests and noticed that I also may have a left hamstring strain … when I asked her if my injury is a knee/IT band injury or a hamstring injury, she replied that it is probably both. She added on a few exercises to my repertoire to deal with the hamstring as well now.

Is running still happening?

Yes, but this is also occurring only once a week. Last Friday I went out on a 37-minute run with Joanna and had discomfort right behind the knee. (I think this is the bottom of my hamstring talking to me). Luckily, towards the end of the run, the discomfort sort of went away. It never got super painful and I had no pain/discomfort on the outer side of my knee (i.e. IT band).

Is anything else happening?

Yes! I started to swim! I am by no means a swimmer, but I am sucking it up and hitting the pool because not running is making me feel gross and out-of-shape. I want to keep my fitness up but I refuse to pay for a gym membership (plus, gyms just depress me in general) and I’m scared of riding my bike with traffic. I swam Sunday and Monday so I am on a roll! I have no goal in regards to swimming, just try to get out in the water as often as I can.

What’s your outlook on your injury?

I am undecided. If I think too much about it, I get down in the dumps about it. It’s kind of nice that I have had a busy summer because half the time I have been preoccupied with other activities.

One thought on “Injured runner: One step (and stroke) at a time

Leave a Reply

