Injured runner: First run in three weeks

This morning I went on my first run in 22 days.

My plan was to do an easy-slow 30 minutes in the flat parts of my neighborhood. I accomplished that goal. But, I did it feeling uncomfortable for a majority of the run.

My left knee/IT band was unhappy from the start.

As soon as I took my first few steps, I immediately felt tension behind my knee. It wasn’t super painful. It stayed with me the entire run and after about the first mile, a slight pain creeped in on the outer side of my knee.

During the run, I tried taking a few strides at a faster tempo to see if that would have any affect on my knee. Going faster did not increase or decrease the pain.

Although this wasn’t the first run back that I was hoping for, it was very nice to be out running again. Oh, how I’ve missed it.

Once I stopped running when my watch hit 30 minutes, the pain went away. I walked two blocks home and my IT band felt fine. It’s just the darn running that causes tension/pain!

On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being the most severe pain,) I would say my knee started at a 2 and ended being somewhere between 3 and 4.

I hope my PT has some magic plans for me tomorrow. I’m starting to feel a little defeated.

But, the best part of my run was when I ran (OK, let’s be real, jogged) past two walkers and one of the women said “Good job!” to me. I wanted to tell her she had no idea how happy it made me to hear those words. I merely replied with a “Good morning!” and smile.

At least I could crack one smile during this run.

 

Leave a Reply

