Recommitting to the Anchorage Marathon

It’s crazy to think I had actually been having real thoughts in the past several days to not do the Anchorage Marathon. I had been considering to switch to the half marathon.

I’ve talked out my thoughts with many people. In true decision-making fashion, I created a pro/con list. I discussed my options with my training partner, Joanna.

The week out from a marathon, I am usually excited and am (nervously) looking forward to race day.

This time it’s been different. I almost want to fast forward and skip the whole thing all together. I want to be back to my normal, fully functioning strong body self– running IT band/knee pain free!

I don’t want to go into the race fearing that my IT band will prevent me from having a good race. (And, I don’t mean good race in terms of PR’ing. I mean, not suffering through it).

A half marathon would be physically easier on my body. I wouldn’t be so sore that I wouldn’t be able to enjoy the rest of my time in Alaska. There would be less risk for causing more harm to my injury

But, I am stubborn.

I have too much self pride.

I’ve been telling my friends and family and coworkers that I am racing the Anchorage Marathon since January. Since then, everyone has been supporting me with words of encouragement and donations to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. This race, I would be running with Team In Training, supporting blood cancer research and patients. I would be doing this all in memory and honor of my dear friend Natalie. I would be doing the full marathon.

I have always been a woman of her word.

If I hadn’t signed up to do this race with Team In Training, or if Joanna wasn’t running it too, I would probably have switched to the half. I know I most likely won’t be running the entire race with Joanna. But, I know I will be mentally happy having completed the full marathon, than I would be physically happy completing the half marathon.

So, no more harping about the injury. No more “poor me’s” … I’m going to do what I do when I don’t know what to do. I am going to run.

And, with everyone’s love, support and encouragement, I know I will get to that finish line in one piece.

 

Leave a Reply

