Road to Anchorage: 9 weeks ’til race day!

I know I’ve been lacking in the blogging regularly part of life, but I suppose that’ll happen when you’re busy being maid of honor for your best friend’s wedding! (That should be a whole recap in itself, right?)

Anyway, as of now, it is technically less than 9 weeks ’til race day … but let’s just not get technical, shall we? Here’s a look at what happened with marathon training this past week.

Monday

While typically Mondays are strictly rest days, I had to rearrange my schedule for the fun week ahead. Ran home (5 miles) and did an additional 4 with Joanna to make a total of 9 miles. The run home felt effortless for once! (And it’s all literally up hill!)

Tuesday

Rest day. Went to see the musical “A Night With Janis Joplin” with my mom and younger cousin. Marissa and I were hands down the youngest people in the entire audience.

Wednesday

Rest day. Got a manicure and pedicure (in preparation for said wedding). I honestly can’t remember the last time I got a mani and the last time I got a pedi was four years ago after my first and only triathlon. The woman who did my nails pointed out my weird big toe nail. I would have blamed it on running, but this one was actually from getting stepped on in cleats a year ago during ultimate Frisbee!

Thursday

IMG_5173

Six beautiful miles at Tiger Mountain with the bride and groom and friends! The Issaquah trails are Phyllis’ old stomping grounds so she led the way on a sunny morning.

Friday

Switched my Saturday long run to Friday because I didn’t think I would realistically want to wake up at like 6 am on Saturday to log the miles in before reporting for wedding duties. (I’m so glad I listened to myself and that Joanna was free to run with me!) We did a hilly route in our neighborhood but headed north. For some reason we always head south when we run in the neighborhood. It was a nice change of pace.

Saturday

Did a 2.5-mile shake out in the morning before hair and make up and all that. (P.S. the wedding was so much fun!)

Sunday

IMG_5294

Four morning miles at Discovery Park with Phyllis and Andrew, the newly weds, and friends! I actually woke up with a headache but once I was out running in the sun and with the happy couple, all was well!

Takeaways: Even when you have a busy week with lots of activities, if you plan ahead, you can get you can hit your mileage. Thank goodness this was supposed to be a lower mileage week! (And, yes, maybe two rest days in a row isn’t ideal but I’ll take this over not running at all!)

Leave a Reply

