5-20 Bridge 10K race, er run, er jog, recap

The decision to not race the Go Long 5-20 Bridge 10K was made for me.

There was no way I could have raced the thing unless I had literally pushed my way to the front and toed the line with the guy who ended up winning the entire race!

I guess that’ll happen when you’re running the world’s longest floating bridge with 12,999 of your other friends.

For such a big race, it was unfortunately poorly organized.

There was no corrall distinctions by pace or even between runners and walkers (or, if there were signs, they were not visible to the majority of participants). My teammates and I got stuck behind many walkers. And, even at the start line when herds of people were trying to jog and shimmy their way through, people were straight-up stopping to talk selfies in the middle of the crowd! I felt like I was in an obstacle course. This spectacle contined for the majority of the race.

12512327_10153589267171313_3202007622572748482_n

My wonderful team before the start of the race! [Photo courtesy of Rebecca Nelson]

I ran the entire 6.2 miles with two of my teammates, one I had actually just met that morning. It was fun talking and sticking together. But, it was draining to have to dodge people left and right.

I never got to anything remotely close to my race pace. Our first mile was done in about 10 minutes and 30 seconds if that gives you a better grasp on how this played out.

Oddly enough, even with all the people, I did see my friend Mo during the race, and ran into another friend after the race. I didn’t know that either of these friends were running the race that day!

But I did leave the race feeling unsatisfied and disappointed yet happy I did it just because it meant time well-spent with teammates. There is no way I would have survived the race under those conditions alone.

However, when you have to pay $10 extra in order to get a timing chip for the race, you expect that you should at least have the option to race, right? I sent an email to the race organization and we’ll see what they respond. I know putting on a big event like this one can’t be easy, but this wasn’t their first rodeo.

Needless to say, I ran more after the race. Because, marathon training stops for no one. — Even when 10Ks literally won’t let you run to your capacity.

 

3 thoughts on “5-20 Bridge 10K race, er run, er jog, recap

  1. Pingback: Road to Anchorage: 10 weeks ’til race day! – Ready, set, KO!

Leave a Reply

