Night before my first ultra: thoughts, many thoughts

There are now less than 12 hours before the Chuckanut 50K — my first ultra.

I have a lot of thoughts rolling through my head.

Will I finish? is a big one. Deep down I know I will finish, but whenever you embark on doing something you have never ever done before in your entire life, doubts start to creep in.

It also doesn’t help that my mom told me I wouldn’t make it to the finish. Her exact words, “You’re going to die!” (Sometimes it’s kind of hard having an Asian mom …)

I know it’s going to be painful. I know it will be rough at times. I’ve practiced the course (twice) so I know what to expect. But, this means I also know that I can do it. (Because I already have!)

IMG_4743

So, what exactly am I nervous about?

Having to go to the bathroom, perhaps. I am first and foremost a road runner. I’m used to have portapotties on the course for road marathons. I’ve had to use them mid-race on a few occasions.

And, it’s not like I’ve never peed in the woods. I’ve hiked and backpacked (once) and gone on trail runs before. But, it’s never been with a lot of other people around! This race is expected to have ~300 runners … what if someone sees me??

When I brought this fear up with Bryce, his advise to me was to just step off the trail “and go.” He says no one will care because they will just be running by and focusing on themselves. (I feel like it’s easier said coming from a guy!)

Anyway …

IMG_4692

Don’t get me wrong, I am excited for the race! I’m looking forward to doing what I love in one of the most beautiful places in the entire world! I’m ready to do something I have never done before. I’m thankful to have Bryce there too, he may be running the race ahead of me but it’ll be nice to know that he is also out there with me. I’ll be thinking of my Oiselle teammates who have wished me well on my race. I’ll be thinking about my friends and family who have been so supportive throughout this training cycle — yes, even my mom! (Her telling me I will be headed toward my demise is her special way of saying I can do it!)

I’ll be doing a lot of thinking out there on the trails tomorrow.

I’m nervous. I’m excited.

But, it’s time to take my own advise* and just run!

 

*Trust in your training

 

 

6 thoughts on “Night before my first ultra: thoughts, many thoughts

  1. Have fun! Don’t forget that there are tons of ferns and dead tree material just off the trail to make your bathroom duties more discreet…..and the other runners will be doing the exact same thing 😉

Leave a Reply

