That trail running feeling

Running up a paved sidewalk or road feels so much easier than running up a dirt trail in the woods.

Running down a paved sidewalk or road feels less scary than running down a dirt trail in the woods.

Trail running is hard.

But, the feeling of crushing those hills on a trail is so different from conquering the hills in the city.

Monday I had a nice trail run in Carkeek Park. It was a “do over” from the previous week’s run when I was overcoming my cold. It was a short run, but a pretty good one.

IMG_4589

There was a total elevation change of 630 feet in 2.7 miles, according to Bryce’s Strava.

I may not have felt fast, but I felt strong.

I didn’t let up on the steep, challenging parts of the trail. I just focused on pumping my arms and putting one foot in front of the other.

IMG_4596

Don’t get me wrong, I won’t stop being a city runner. I love a good road marathon.

But, I’m giving this trail running thing a good solid go.

Wouldn’t you if you were doing a trail 50K in nine weeks?

 

 

Leave a Reply

