Running and fundraising my way to Anchorage

Why am I training and running the Anchorage Marathon with Team in Training while fundraising for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society?

The short answer: Natalie.

Scan12 copy

Donations to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society (LLS) go directly towards blood cancer patients and their families. And just as importantly, the money goes toward more blood cancer research.

I support LLS so that all the Natalies in the world can live past their 18th birthdays.

My childhood friend Natalie passed away from leukemia nearly 10 years ago but I run in memory and in honor of her.

Team in Training kicked off practice this morning. We ran 40 chilly/foggy minutes on Mercer Island and a bit of the I-90 bridge. The run itself wasn’t hard but afterward I felt pretty tired since I am coming off a nasty cold. (This was my first run in a week!)

I’m excited to be training with a group of people who are all working together toward a common goal — to fight cancer. It may sound cliche but it’s true.

If you feel so inclined, please check out my fundraising page to read more about why this is important to me and how you can help. Thank you so much.

3 thoughts on “Running and fundraising my way to Anchorage

  1. Pingback: Overflowing with love – Ready, set, KO!

  2. Pingback: Trail Running: Practice Makes Practice – Ready, set, KO!

  3. Pingback: Chuckanut 50K: My first ultra – Ready, set, KO!

Leave a Reply

