Preparing for 2016 racing

As I sit in bed typing this, it’s kind of ironic that I would be writing about the year’s races. After all, I am sick in bed with the sniffles and can barely hear anything since my ears are so plugged.

But, since I have been sleeping for a good portion of the last two days, I figured I could be a bit productive during my “awake hours.” (If I can’t run, at least I can write about it, right?)

Once I kick this cold, I’m ready to take on 2016 training.

First up: #runlovechallenge with my partner in crime/running/Disneyland, Phyllis. We’ve created (well, she created) a spreadsheet of all the activities we will be partaking in, to get us geared up for the Orcas Island 25K. There are some Dirty Dozens as well as mini-Crossfit-type exercises for the non-running days, and then of course, a build-up including lots of hills to get us ready for the 25K at the end of the month.

Next up: Orcas Island 25K. Phyllis talked me into doing this one. We will be volunteer-sweeping the course! My understanding is that you still get to run the entire course, you are just last and make sure there are no stragglers or runners who have fallen to their demise, that type of thing! This will be my second 25K but I really don’t feel much pressure since Phyllis and I will be doing this together. (Will it hurt? Yes. Will it be fun? Of course!)

Meanwhile: I have the Anchorage Marathon in June at the back of my mind. Normally, I do some type of three-month(ish) training cycle for a full marathon since at any given time, I am usually in “decent” shape and already have a baseline to work off of. However, for this race, I will be training and running it with the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s Team in Training (TNT). Training officially begins in three days. This would put me at a 5-month training cycle. I’ll go into more detail as to why I am training with TNT another day.

For now, I’m going to go pour myself another glass of orange juice and take a DayQuil. Cheers to getting healthy ASAP!

Leave a Reply

