2015 Life Reflections

I went to a Jesuit high school, so I really know how to reflect.

Usually when a year comes to an end, I feel “meh” about it. I’m not sad to part with the current year and I’m not overly excited about the year ahead.

2015 was much different.

IMG_2168

Above were goals I made for myself at the beginning of the year when I was in Japan visiting family. I knew the “getting a new job” one would be the most difficult. After all, I had been working in a field for three years that had “no relevance” to what I wanted to be doing. I felt stuck.

But, I made it happen.

IMG_3965

At the start of the year, I began taking an online certificate course through the University of Washington in social media marketing. I made connections and networked. I worked hard. I continued to write countless cover letters. But, I really made an effort in the networking bit.

And, I started a new job that I love in June!

Not only have things been going well on the job-front this year, I feel like 2015 was also a solid year for running. You can read my 2015 Running Year in Review here. I didn’t obtain the “break four hours” at a marathon goal, but I know I’m close.

So, obtaining three out of four goals seems pretty great.

And, goals aside, I continued to make great efforts in strengthening certain relationships and maintaining others. As an “older person,” I am starting to realize that you can’t make time for everyone and everyone won’t make time for you. So, keep those you only want to keep around, around.

I was able to make short trips to Washington, D.C. (my first time to our nation’s beautiful capitol!), NYC and Disneyland this year. Plus, I kicked off the year in Japan so can’t complain there!

IMG_4331

Maybe it’s too early to say this has been my best post-college/adult year. But, it was pretty darn awesome.

Hard work pays off. It’s proven in my work, running and relationships.

2016, you have very large shoes to fill.

Leave a Reply

