Day v. Night

OK, real talk. Running at night is hard.

I’m still run commuting home one to three times a week and am trying to get used to running in complete darkness.

IMG_3943

I have a headlamp and a reflective vest.

But, somehow drivers still don’t pay attention when turning and do not stop for me.

Sometimes pedestrians get mad at me when I say “excuse me” and try to get by them, walking two abreast.

And, I’m always on edge. Usually when I run alone, it is a time for me to be with my thoughts. (A lot of my blog posts are first drafted in my head while on a run!)

But lately I am paying strict attention to my surroundings. I don’t want to trip over a crevasse in the sidewalk. I don’t want to get hit by a car. You know, all normal runner worries that are heightened when it is dark outside.

Last Wednesday I had the luxury of running during daylight hours. We had a work event that started at 6 a.m. so I was done earlier in the day.

IMG_3954

It was so nice to run at Green Lake and not having to worry about running! I could just run. Other people actually smiled and said hi to me! I didn’t have to keep my eyes glued to the ground.

You don’t realize how great daylight running is until you aren’t able to do it every day.

Daylight in general is pretty awesome though.

I mean, Matt and Kim have a whole song devoted to it!

 

Leave a Reply

