The 28-day plank challenge

I’m not one for challenges.

Wait, let me rephrase that.

I’m not one for organized do this for X number of days-type challenges.

I think they usually do not appeal to me because they are all physical activity-related and I run and do enough supplemental strength and core training to not need an additional “challenge.”

IMG_3896

Post-plank selfie

But, I just completed one and am in the middle of another.

My cousin recruited my aunt and cousins to partake in a 28-day plank challenge.

I wish I could report back that I now have a six-pack. But, I can confidently say that a 1-minute-30-second plank is easy and a 2-minute plank is do-able and a 3-minute plank was brutal and I only managed to do twice.

According to the challenge rules, I didn’t complete the challenge. It started us out at only 20 seconds of plank and each day we increased the time by 10 seconds.

“I can do this!” I thought the first few days.

But then the increments increased significantly. After one minute, it was 30-second increases. And, let me tell you, the 2:30 to 3:00 minute increase was the worst. By the end of the 28 days, we would have worked up to four total minutes. That just seems insane.

Maybe if I had had people physically around me doing the planks with me, I could have gotten up to 3:20 or 3:30. (My aunt and cousins live out of state from me).

Once I knew I couldn’t do more than 3 minutes, I just did anywhere from 1:30 to 2:00 minutes of plank every day.

I’m enjoying my next challenge: #chasethebird – this one is through Oiselle for the month of November.

I’m glad that it’s one where I do not need to plank every day.

So, challenge accepted!

2 thoughts on “The 28-day plank challenge

Leave a Reply

