My Halloween 5K check-up

IMG_3899

With 25-30 mph winds and rain, it wasn’t poised to be a PR race.

But, the main reason I signed up for this race was because my Oiselle teammates would be running it, too. (If it weren’t for them, I probably would have gone back to sleep upon looking out the window race morning!)

I still decided to somewhat push myself to identify a “5K fitness” baseline.

[Image credit: Peter Clancy]

[Image credit: Peter Clancy]

Maybe starting toward the back of the starting line wasn’t the best decision, but oh well! I had to do a bit of weaving for the first quarter mile or so. If I had been seriously racing, I would have made sure to start a little more toward the front, especially since this was a small race.

My splits were all over the place. First mile at 7:10, second at 7:50 (eeeek!) and the last mile I brought it a bit down. My Garmin told me I clocked in at about 23:18.

I’m happy with this time. I would have been happy with under 24 and thrilled with sub-23. The only time I have ever sub-23’d in my life is my current PR of 22:34 set two years ago.

My one non-marathon goal is to get my 5K time in the low 22s.

Anyone know any good upcoming 5Ks in the greater Seattle area?

12190906_10153055317231574_7074211137246636081_n

[Photo credit: Kaleigh Gerlich]

My race recap aside, it was so fun meeting up with my teammates, many of whom I had never met IRL before. I was very excited to meet my teammate Rebecca — someone I have exchanged tweets with for a while, but had never met in person. She’s just as wonderful offline as she is online!

IMG_3901

The biggest victory of the morning was that those cat ears stayed on my head the entire race!

Until next Halloween, 23:18 will be my run-in-cat-ears-PR!

Leave a Reply

