Trying to be the Good Samaritan

One time I found three 20-dollar bills at the mall. Yes, so $60.

I looked around and no one was nearby. I pocketed the money and then went home to write and submit a Craigslist ad stating I had found a sum of money at a Seattle-area mall and that if you could tell me the quantity and what mall, I would return the money to you.

I received zero responses so I donated the money to one of my favorite local nonprofits.

Sometimes it’s hard being a Good Samaritan.

Take this past Sunday for example.

Bryce and I found a ring in the parking lot of Gasworks Park. It was around 10 a.m. and it was on the curb of the stall we had parked in. It looked like it could have been an engagement ring. There were three centered red-colored jewels (maybe rubies?) with two smaller diamond-types in between them.

We decided to leave it on the curb in case the owner came back looking for it.

When we returned to our car about 45 minutes later, the ring was still there.

“Now what do we do?” I asked Bryce.

He suggested we report it to the police. I made a comment that maybe the police would just keep it for themselves and that maybe taking the matter to Twitter would be more effective. I was being half-serious.

As we sat in the car, Bryce examined the ring. He said he had no idea if it was real or not.

“Oh, gosh! We cannot report a missing fake ring!” I replied.

I took the ring from him and “examined” it as well. I’m not into jewelry so I had no idea if it was just a trinket or a fancy-expensive ring. As I held it I realized that the band wasn’t cold. If this was real gold, wouldn’t the band be cold from being outside? I brought this “clue” to Bryce’s attention.

We decided that no one would have a ring with a plastic or plastic-type band with expensive jewels. We left the ring in the parking lot and told ourselves it wasn’t real.

Sometimes, it’s confusing being a Good Samaritan.

And then, last night Joanna (my roommate) and I went out for an easy post-work run together. When we returned to our apartment, Joanna noticed that a car in our apartment’s lot had its headlights on.

“I could leave a note on the car saying that if the battery is dead in the morning, they can call me? I have jumper cables!” she said.

But, then we thought one step further. We would tell our apartment manager what stall the car was parked in. Then, he could notify the tenant.

Joanna called and received our apartment manager’s voice mail. She left a detailed message and as soon as she hung up, we both said in unison, “It’s in his hands now!”

Sometimes, it’s about passing on being a Good Samaritan to others.

One thought on “Trying to be the Good Samaritan

Leave a Reply

