Two years ago today, last year today and today today

Facebook reminded me that exactly five years ago, it was my first day on the job as a newspaper reporter.

Pictured: On the job, but not first day

It was my first “real job” out of college.

This post is inspired by this one that was written exactly four years ago.

*****************************

Two years ago today I was five months into my second clinical research job. I was learning a lot about Parkinson’s disease since that was our research focus. I was becoming good friends with my coworkers, which was really wigging me out.

Last year today not much had changed from the previous year. I was looking forward to crushing the Portland Marathon in a month (but failed miserably).

And, today today I am three months fresh into an entirely new marketing job. Gone are the days where I wore a lab coat and processed bloods. Gone are the early pre-7 a.m. drives to work. I am now a bus commuter — and often times a run home commuter.

I’m pleased to say that one of my old coworkers is now one of my closest friends.

I don’t know when my next full marathon will be and I am ok with that looking forward to it none the less!

What were you doing two years ago?

Leave a Reply

