Not running on National Running Day

Today is National Running Day. I am thankful for having the legs and mind that allow me to train and run marathons. I am thankful I have many friends who share in a love for running. I am thankful that I have created new friendships because of running.

I went on a nice 60-minute slow run along Lake Washington yesterday afternoon. It was my longest run since the Eugene Marathon nearly a month ago. It felt great.

And, today, on National Running Day, I’m not running. You know, with work and an evening class, I couldn’t fit it in today.

But, let’s be real. Every day is running day!

Ready, set, KO!

I’m a sucker for things that bring people together. National Running Day? Sounds good to me. I run several times a week, anyway.

But, not today. Yesterday I decided that since my left hamstring has been tight since Sunday, I would take today off. (Apparently three games of ultimate is too much for this distance runner). I ran Monday and Tuesday (even though it was sore during the run).

I’m also a sucker for discounted race entries. When I received the email from the Seattle Rock ‘n Roll Marathon people saying that in celebration of National Running Day, race entry would be 20 dollars off, I was nearly ready to enter my credit card information. I’ve done the Seattle Rock ‘n Roll Half the past two years and have been playing with the idea of doing it this year (at the end of the month,) but haven’t registered because 130…

View original post 53 more words

Leave a Reply

