Getting ready for a (pre-) birthday relay

Some people throw big parties for their birthdays.

I ask my friends if they’ll run with me.

More specifically, I ask them to race with me.

Last year, it was a local 5K. This year, it will be a team relay race!

I’ll be doing Rainier to Ruston, a 50-mile relay, with Bryce and two friends in about a week. Yes, this race will not fall on my actual birthday, but Monday race days are difficult to come by.

None of us have ever done this specific relay but I imagine it will be a mini version of Ragnar.

And, no, hardly any running has been happening since I did Eugene Marathon at the beginning of the month so we’ll see how these legs of mine will hold up. (We signed up for this race three days ago!)

I’m just looking forward to enjoying a full day of running with my friends from Rainier — to Ruston!

Leave a Reply

