Having a taper tantrum

This is supposed to be the easy part.

All the really long runs are done. There are no more track workouts to do. My hill workouts have been completed. (OK, OK, so I only did one hill workout this training cycle. But, it was one more than I did last year!)

What I am trying to say is that all the physically difficult stuff is done with. My marathon training is almost complete because race day will be here in two weeks (and three days!)

There’s not much more running left to do.

Last weekend was the 20-miler and this weekend I’ll drop down to (only) 10 miles.

I’m trying not to throw a taper tantrum.

Because, I feel like I haven’t been running enough this week. But, I need to remind myself that this is normal, this is OK. I’m allowing my body to recover from that 20-mile run and getting ready for a marathon in a few weeks.

And, most importantly, I am making a conscious effort (as I have been throughout training,) to get enough sleep and stay hydrated.

There’s a lot going on in my life right now. I am looking for a new place to live and am worried I won’t find anything by the time my current lease is up. Normally this would freak me out and I would be super stressed out.

I tend to get sick if I am too stressed. So, I am being zen about this whole housing thing. (Or, at least I’m telling myself I am zen). The last thing I need is added stress as I now mentally prepare for this race.

Because, all the physical training has been clocked in.

Now I just need to stay calm.

And, be zen while I taper.

3 thoughts on “Having a taper tantrum

  1. Tapering is a weird thing. It makes you feel like you should be doing more. It’s a relief, but it makes you feel like you’re missing something. But you’re not! It’s good for you!

    Wishing you success in your house hunt and in your race!

Leave a Reply

