Road to Eugene: 12 weeks away ’til race day

OK, OK, so by now it is more like 11.5 weeks away until race day, but you know what? I actually do a few other things besides running and writing! (Shocking, I know).

Anyway, before we waste any more time, here’s what 12 weeks until Eugene Marathon look like for me:

The long run for the week was unconventional in terms that I first “raced” a 5K and then ran 7 miles for a total of 10 miles. I’ve never been determined crazy enough to continue running after a race, but it actually isn’t that bad. The key is to not full out race the race. You have to go into it telling yourself you are not and will not PR. (But, for the full Love ‘Em or Leave ‘Em 5K recap, you can go here).

After the race, I ate a banana, drank some water and met up with Shannon and Jeana for some more mileage along Green Lake to Ravenna and back to Green Lake/Lower Woodland again. Seriously, running with a group makes a huge difference than obviously running alone (or even as a pair). If you get tired, you can just stop talking all together and you don’t need to worry about even chiming in because that’s what the third person is there for! It’s wonderful!

It was great catching up with Jeana because I hadn’t seen her in a while. We clocked in at around 9:20/9:30 average pace for our 7 miles, which was pleasantly accepted by my 5K-ed out body. It was good, sunny, not-too-cool, Valentine’s day running weather in Seattle.

I did however return home pretty fatigued and after doing maybe a quarter of my normal strength training and core routine, called it quits. I was now exhausted.

But, things are looking good. I have no complaints or worries. Well, my one big worry was finding a place to stay in Eugene because apparently 12 weeks out and everyone has already booked all the walking-distance-to-race-start hotels! We did find something within a 10-minute drive to Eugene so I think I’ll be fine. (My dad wrote in his email, “Kristin, this hotel didn’t get good reviews on Trip Advisor …)

I’m not that high maintenance of a runner, right?

Leave a Reply

