When your house gets broken into

When I saw that my phone had two missed calls and a voicemail, I didn’t expect to hear my roommate say in that recorded message: “It looks like someone broke into our house. They didn’t take any computers …”

Immediately my mind started racing. Did she say all the computers were there? Or that they had been taken?

I was mad. I was confused. The doors were all locked but someone or some people decided to deliberately break in and enter. And, we live in a “good neighborhood!”

When I discovered that “all s/he/they took” was jewelry, I was a little relieved.

Necklaces and rings and bracelets are just things, I told myself. When I realized that the stolen jewelry included my Nike Women’s Marathon Tiffany’s necklace, I felt a little more sad than before. That was a necklace that I earned, that I trained and raced for. It can never be replaced. I cannot go to Tiffany & Co. and purchase a new one. It was unique to that 2011 race. And then I realized that a pair of earrings that were also stolen belonged to Sarah. These were not expensive earrings, but they held great sentimental value to me. And, don’t get me started on the gold rings my mom gave me when I was younger that she got from her mom.

What feels worse than all the jewelry that was stolen from my house is the feeling of insecurity I now feel. Seeing your room with drawers to your nightstand and dresser opened with bags and other items in disarray is not a good feeling. Even my socks and underwear were scattered on the floor because apparently the robber(s) assumed I had expensive goods tucked away in my sock drawer …. yeah, right! You got the wrong house for that, buddy!

Your home is supposed to be a place to be safe and secure.

You never think something like this will happen to you. And, when it does, it’s shocking. You try to make sense of it all.

Why did they not take our computers? Why did they not take XYZ and instead take ABC? Why did they not take the 40 dollars in cash to the desk drawer that they clearly opened?

You start speculating and wondering and replaying what happened in your head.

Were they teenagers just out for the thrill to do something? Were they on drugs? Were they watching us when we left the house? Have they been watching us before and knew that we were girls and therefore maybe owned jewelry? Will it happen again?

I know it could have been way worse and I am thankful that it wasn’t. I’m glad no one was home when it happened. I’m glad no one came home while it was happening. None of us were hurt. I’m appreciative that they didn’t steal our computers because I hadn’t backed up my hard drive in a while. I’m thankful they didn’t take my passport.

“At least the most important thing of your house wasn’t harmed,” my coworker said.

What was she referring to?

Me, and my roommates.

Getting your house broken into is very unsettling. With news that Washington state is #1 in the country for property crime in 2013, we all need to take the necessary precautions and keep an eye on each other and our neighbors.

However, I suppose my roommates and I cannot live in fear. I’m moving on (and moving out! — Just kidding, roommates …)

But, let me just add, I think I’ve had my fair share of unfortunate events for a while, OK?

OK, good.

 

2 thoughts on “When your house gets broken into

Leave a Reply

