Marathon training update: 4 weeks away!

Last week my coworkers made fun of me for filling up two water bottles before even logging into my email.

This week I am going to make an even better effort to stay hydrated. (I guess drink more than just the two bottles?)

This week I am going to treat my life as if it is race week.

On Sunday, I’ll be doing 20 miles with Joanna, the very last of our long runs before the Portland Marathon in October.

And, if I’m going to train like I’ll race, then I may as well train my body for the preparations too, right?

I’ll make sure to eat enough. I’ll force myself to go to sleep early. I will not overwork my body.

I’ll probably make myself a few EmergenC cocktails. (Is it just me or do you also freak out that you are “coming down with a cold,” the week before a big race?)

Twenty-miler, you don’t scare me! You’re just a part of my training β€” just like all the other runs.

Leave a Reply

