That one Thursday

Sometimes, you just need a change of scenery, a change of pace.

Sometimes, you need to be closer to the water.

Seeing it isn’t good enough. Smelling it is nice but doesn’t do the job.

Jumping in may suffice.

As a runner, I hardly feel like I’m floating. Maybe on a really good run, I feel like I’m flying.

Lake Washington

Lake Washington

But on the water, it feels different.

I feel free in an “I’m-trapped-in-a-canoe” type of way.

If only summer days like this could last longer.

Floating on water was just the break I needed in the middle of a Thursday evening 10-miler.

Seen on my run

Seen on my run

Because if you can’t always fly, floating is a close second.

Leave a Reply

