Running down (a marathon of a) dream

If running has taught me anything, it has taught me to never give up.

It has taught me that no goal is too unrealistic.

And, as corny as it may sound, it has taught me that those dreams you once had can be turned into realities.

It took me three years to set a marathon PR.

Did I feel like quitting? Yes.

Did I ever feel like maybe I wasn’t cut out to be a marathoner? Heck, yes.

But, I didn’t stop trying.

I didn’t stop training.

I didn’t stop learning from the mistakes I made in the previous one, two races.

And, when I finally did achieve that PR, not only did it feel great because I reached a goal I had invested all my time and energy into, I had a HUGE PR. I beat my time by 16 minutes!

Now I have a new goal.

I want to beat 4 hours.

I will beat 4 hours.

I can’t guarantee that I’ll do it in three months at the Portland Marathon, but I am planning on it.

I’m training for it.

Four years ago I never even imagined of being a sub-4 marathoner. It seemed too far-fetched. It seemed crazy.

Now I can see it.

All because I never gave up after all those disappointing races.

For the past two weeks the weather in Seattle has been uncomfortably hot for this born-and-raised Seattleite. Every afternoon when I would arrive home from work, I really did not want to run in the heat and sun.

But, I did.

I kept (and I keep) telling myself that everything from here on out is for that sub-4 hours.

Vancouver Marathon 2012

Vancouver Marathon 2012

We allΒ know distance runners never give up.

So, I’m going to keep running now for later.

My future self will thank me.

One thought on “Running down (a marathon of a) dream

  1. Pingback: Portland Marathon goals | Ready, set, KO!

Leave a Reply

