Getting ready to Ragnar

After I did my first relay race (Hood to Coast) last summer with complete strangers, I knew I had to do another relay.

This time I decided to stay a little closer to home. And to do it with people I know a little better.

We’re staying in state.

We’re going to do Ragnar Northwest Passage.

And, by we, I do mean we, because I’ll be doing this race with my friends. (Since I had so much fun running Hood to Coast with strangers, I can’t imagine how much fun it’d be to do a relay with actual friends!)

We’ll be starting in Blaine, Wash. (just next to the Washington-Canada border) and make our way down to Langley on Whidbey Island. That’s 200 miles of running between the 12 of us.

I attended the captain’s meeting last week and the race director enthusiastically told us that if something doesn’t go wrong, we’re not doing it right.

So, I hope enough goes wrong to keep us laughing and smiling and running.

I feel like I’m not as in shape as I should be to take on this race, but hey, my team isn’t out to win any categories or anything.

We’re about having fun, about trying new things.

This may be my first Ragnar race but I do have one relay under my belt. I’m pretty excited for 10 (of my 11) teammates though — this will be their very first relay. (Eeeeeeek!) I guess I’m a pretty persuasive friend by convincing all of them to join!

This race is one of my summer highlights since I don’t have any vacations planned. I’m pretty sure it won’t disappoint.

 

Leave a Reply

