Ready to Blerch

My phone notification went off at 8:50 a.m. but I didn’t need reminding. I sat anxiously at my desk waiting for 9 a.m., when registration for Beat the Blerch would open.

I felt like I was in college again and having to register for classes right at 6 a.m. If you did not register right at 6 in the morning, there was a very high chance you would not get a spot in the desired class(es) you wanted/needed.

With all the hype on social media and an article over the weekend in the local newspaper about this race, I was certain it would sell out quickly (if not immediately).

I refreshed the registration page at 8:55 a.m. Nope, still hadn’t started. (I guess this is where it differed from class registration because it was a known “secret” at my alma mater that registering for classes began five minutes prior to the time listed).

Finally it was 9 a.m. and as soon as I refreshed the page I received a “service unavailable” message.

Noooooooo. Every runner and soon-to-be-runner was attempting to register for the race too!

I tried going to the website through my iPhone. It was taking FOREVER to load.

I was simultaneously firing text messages with two other friends who were also trying to register.

The site kept knocking each of us off, causing us to re-enter our information numerous times. I started to lose hope. One of my coworkers joined in “on the fun” and tried registering. Her words: Ohhhhh, this is like trying to buy concert tickets!

Jackie texted and informed me that the registration for her fiancé had finished processing and that now she was working on hers. Did she want to register for me too?

Not giving up, I was finally on the last step of the registration process, typing in my credit card information. I told her that was it OK and that (I think) I could do it myself.

Sarah was also attempting to register for me but kept getting kicked off the site.

At about 9:30 a.m., my registration went through (on my phone) and I gave out a sigh of relief. My coworker, Emily (who is sisters with Sarah), also finally got through on her laptop. She ended up registering Sarah, who in the end wasn’t able to complete her own.

A few minutes after my stressed-out mind had somewhat relaxed, I checked the event’s Facebook page and discovered that the race sold out in 29 minutes! I’m pretty sure we got one of the last spots.

20140327-124209.jpg

 

I’m doing the 10K since the race is two weeks before the Portland Marathon. I’m excited to incorporate cake-stuffing into my fall running regimen.

Because, you know, now that we’re registered, we gotta beat the blerch!

2 thoughts on “Ready to Blerch

  1. Yeah! He says he is going to make a virtual race also so more people can sign up and race on their own time but still get a goodie bag!

Leave a Reply

