Year End’s resolutions

We’re all encouraged (or pressured by others) to make New Year’s resolutions.


Every New Year’s Eve we think of something that will better ourselves … The classic, “I will go on a diet” or “I’m going to go to the gym” to more thoughtful ones like starting to volunteer at an organization you support.


I don’t remember what I was thinking about at the end of last year.


It probably had something to do with focusing on my running. At the time, I was on a “running streak” where I ran at least 20 minutes a day for as many days in a row as I could. I accomplished 39 days until sickness had me down (literally). And by sickness, I mean a common cold, nothing serious.


The nice thing about resolutions is that they can be as big or small as you want them to be. No one even has to know about them if you don’t want them to.


But, instead of focusing on New Year’s resolutions, why not Year End’s resolutions, too?


In what way do you want to finish off the year? How do you want to feel when the clock strikes midnight?


I made a decision in November to take the stairs every day at work rather than the elevator. This may seem like a small feat for some but my office is on the 8th floor and eight flights of stairs at 7 in the morning isn’t fun. By the time I get to the top, I am perspiring because I get too lazy to take off my down-jacket because I don’t want to carry it along with my lunch and work-out clothes bag. (OK, OK, I’ll stop complaining).


Maybe when January rolls around I’ll be like, “Pshhh, eight flights of stairs! Bahh. That’s nothing!” And speed-walk up them faster than the two minutes it takes me to drag my feet up it now.


Maybe my Year End’s resolution isn’t something big that is “making me a better person,” but it’s making me less lazy.


Every morning when I walk through the doors of the building and see people walking into an elevator, I want to join them. But, then I remember that I don’t like elevator small talk. And, I get impatient when I have to stop at every floor on my way up to the 8th. Plus, I have that resolution.


Can choosing to take the stairs actually be a resolution? I mean, maybe it’s more of a goal.


But, the whole point is that the 2013 is quickly coming to a close. Do you want to be getting into that work elevator that will probably break down (again) or do you want to be using your own two feet by taking the stairs — and coincidentally run into former colleagues who you actually enjoy talking to?


It’s up to you. Enjoy 2013 while it’s still here.
Leave a Reply

