Making my week

What did my patient tell me after I drew his blood this afternoon?

That was one of the best draws I have had.

In my head I was jumping up and down and doing cartwheels and wanting to shout, “I just started drawing blood this past summer! I’m still a beginner!” Instead, I just glowed on the inside, smiled and said, “Thank you.”

If you had told me seven years ago, heck, even seven months ago, that I would successfully be drawing blood and receiving compliments for it, I would have rolled my eyes and laughed. I would have been in disbelief. Me? The journalism-major who is incredibly afraid of needles? Not going to happen.

Don’t get me wrong. I am no expert phlebotomist. I sweat bullets as I get all my materials ready and tie the tourniquet around the patients’ arms.

Maybe fears really do not exist. How else do we explain someone being afraid of needles being able to draw blood?

Maybe it’s just all in our attitudes.

Maybe it’s growing up.

I guess the power of positive thinking really can do wonders.

Leave a Reply

