Fa-fa-falling into fall

It’s getting colder.

I wore a jacket under my jacket (yes, two jackets!) to Wednesday night’s game. While it was warm when walking around, I was definitely content (temperature-wise) standing. I was not content with the outcome and performance of the Seattle Sounders (but that’s another story).

I’m dreading the really cold months that are upon us. I’m dreading waking up when it’s dark outside (oh wait, already happening) and coming home when it’s dark. I’m dreading having to scrape ice off my windshield in the mornings before work while my fingers go numb.

But, for now,

I am loving the wonderful fall weather we are having.

The leaves are starting to turn red, orange and yellow.

When the sun’s out, it’s still warm enough for shorts but now I am wearing a longsleeve instead of a tanktop.

There’s something about fall.

I guess when I was younger, it meant the start of something new. A new school year. A new cross-country season. There was hope. There was excitement.

I’m doing a lot of fun stuff this fall. I have the Chicago Marathon this weekend. I am going to Disneyland in November. That’s exciting, right?

Running in the brisk fall weather doesn’t make me feel so bad about leaving summer. Don’t get me wrong, I love summer but I haven’t been conditioned to be a heat runner. I prefer the cold.

Now, maybe when it starts raining every day until next July, I won’t be singing the same tune.

But, right now, I’m falling into fall.

And, I’m really hopeful and excited.

3 thoughts on “Fa-fa-falling into fall

Leave a Reply

