The time is now

I hadn’t run in six days.

It wasn’t because of a lack of motivation.

I just didn’t have time.

And, I know … when you want to do something, you make the time to do it.

But, seriously.

Graduations. Family in town. World Cup qualifier game. That 9-to-5-thing called “work.”

So, even though this afternoon I was pretty tired from all the fun things that have been going on, I changed into my running clothes (shorts and a cotton t-shirt since I had no tech shirts at my parents’ house) and went out on my shuffle.

It was muggy.

My legs felt achy.

I could feel all the desserts and extra intake of food throughout the past few days as I sloshed along. (Oh, and there was the Theo chocolate tour this morning! Yes, this morning! And, there were quite a number of free samples …)

But, once I hit the turnaround point that I’ve run to time and time again in the neighborhood I grew up in, and looked down at my watch … I was surprised.

I was a minute faster at the turnaround point than my “usual time.”

Marathon (and half marathon) training, it’s time to begin … NOW.

Leave a Reply

