Bragging rights

I don’t know when it started to happen, but I’ve noticed recently that this one thing has really started to annoy me.

Facebook.

OK, it’s not Facebook itself that annoys me. It’s the content that I see day after day.

Yes, I understand that it is my choice to log in day after day and see what it has to “offer me.”

More often than not, what it has to offer me is a bunch of people bragging about very trivial matters.

I was talking about this with Phyllis the other day and then mid-way through my point I interrupted myself and said, “Well, I guess I can’t complain … I always brag about my running-related achievements.” Most recently was my 16-minute marathon PR!! (Are you tired of hearing about that?)

But, Phyllis (being a good friend) said posting things on Facebook that have to do with achieving something that you put a lot of hard work and effort into is different from — everything else. This “everything else” category usually has to do with Instagram photos of gifts you may have received. Or, anything that has to do with showing off that you have a lot (or some) money and means.

But, it’s not just the materialistic bragging that annoys me.

The emo status updates about “I had a bad day” but then being vague about what the cause was … those annoy me too. Or, the ones that are along the lines of “OMG, I have such great luck/news/prospects!” and then not sharing with the class what exactly you are excited about … those equally annoy me.

 

Maybe I’m just easily annoyed.

But, seriously, not all things have equal bragging rights.

Right?

 

Leave a Reply

