A weekend of good stuff

The three-day weekend. We only have them every two months (sometime three maybe?) so when they come around, you know you are making plans.

You’re going to get out of the city. You’re going to go camping. You’re going to book a quick trip (and take an extra day or two off work) and turn the three-day into a little vacation. You’re going to “do things.”

When the week before Memorial Day weekend approached, people (i.e. coworkers and other people I talk to on a day-to-day basis) started asking me what plans I had for the long weekend.

“Eh, not much. Just hanging around, relaxing.”

They were going to Sasquatch at the Gorge (you know, the big music festival that’s all weekend long). They were going backpacking. They had big plans.

Well, my weekend looked a little like this:

I got nine whole hours of sleep two nights in a row. I cleaned the bathroom. I did laundry (both darks and whites!) I won a water balloon toss contest. I laughed so hard my stomach hurt and I was nearly crying while playing a creative version of charades with family and friends (think the game, telephone, meets charades). I taste-tested my way through the Moscow Mules of Seattle. (And, by that, I mean I had two different tasting ones at two different bars and plan to seek out more in the near future. They were both very good, by the way). I went on a rainy morning run with “my long lost friend.” I bought hiking boots! (And, I think they are my first pair of adult hiking boots! Before I just scurried around in old running shoes and prayed I wouldn’t roll an ankle).

I did all the good stuff and all the essential stuff this weekend.

A family of seastars! [Photo cred: B’s smartphone]

I also spotted many starfish at the tide pools at Carkeek Park. And, hermit crabs, and anemones, and mussels, and sea slugs, and barnacles …

So, when’s the next three-day weekend?

Leave a Reply

