In Bruges

Call it luck. Call it good training. Call it taking-your-iron-and-thus-having-energy.

But,

I have not had a single bad run this entire training cycle.

I mean, there’s the occasional slow or achy ones. But, nothing super bad.

Today my run could have been bad. I was slogging along on the trail with a knot forming in my stomach. My body just felt heavy. My steps did not feel light. I felt sweaty and gross because I was wearing all long sleeves but the sun came out during my run. I kind of wanted to stop.

So, I did.

I saw a duck perched along the canal. I noticed him/her because I thought s/he looked ugly. Then, I noticed behind the ugly duck were four little cute ducklings! I started taking some photos. (I know, my priority is camera over water while running in Europe!)

I felt a little better after my quick rest from running. However, once I got back on the path my stomach felt tight again. “This sort of sucks,” I thought to myself.

Then I thought something else:

I am running in Bruges. I am training for my marathon in a third new country on this trip of mine. I am running just four miles in Bruges today.

Telling myself all of that instantly made me feel better. I am in Bruges. And, I am running.

And, tomorrow I will again run in Bruges!

Pretend it's daylight and there's a canal, and that would be what my run looked like. Otherwise, this is Bruges city hall at night.

Pretend it’s daylight and there’s a canal, and that would be what my run looked like. Otherwise, this is Bruges city hall at night.

Leave a Reply

