Gone and done streaking

I put my body to the test. Well, mainly I put my mind to the ultimate test.

I would run consecutively every day for as long as I could. I would not quit. The travel time that basically made me “lose a day” by flying from Seattle to Narita, Japan wasn’t going to hinder this new project. The dark Seattle nights that begin at 4 p.m. were not going to stop me. The fact that I may feel “a little tired” from waking up at 6:15 a.m. and then be at work for 8 hours followed by three hours of volunteering every Monday wasn’t going to make me miss a run.

I would make the time to run.

And, don’t get me wrong, there were a few days I went out there and thought to myself, “What the heck am I doing?? I don’t want to be out here!!”

“Is the streak alive?” Erica or Alex would ask me in passing when they would get home from work.

“You know it!” I would reply, adding in the number of days I had been running.

I was on a running streak, folks.

The rules? Run at least 20 minutes every day for as long as I could. (And, OK, yes, I fudged a bit on that travel day. You see, I left Seattle on Jan. 30 and clocked in my run that morning before my flight. But, with the time difference, by the time I arrived at my grandma’s house in Japan, it was like 7 p.m. Jan. 31! I ran for four minutes in her driveway. I counted that … whatever, these are my rules). And, of course, a majority of the runs were from 30 to 40 minutes with a few long runs scattered in there.

My secret goal was to get to 100 days. One hundred seemed like a nice feel-good number.

Am I crazy? No. People do running streaks all the time! Some of the crazies are out there with streaks that go on for years. Seriously. My college roommate, Heather, coincidentally is also on a streak. She’s training for a marathon and back when I saw her around Christmas-time when she was home for the holidays, said she was on day 80-something!

What happened to my streak?

I caught that plague that’s been going around. I know, it’s probably my fault for not getting a flu shot.

My last run was Wednesday. It was run number 39. Thirty-nine! Not even Forty!

But, I am pretty proud of having a 39-day running streak. (I secretly tried doing a streak in the summer and it “only” lasted 15 days).

Also, think about it: I kind of started a streak during the “worst time.” There were the holidays. There’s the crappy weather. There’s the flu season! Starting up a streak again in the summer seems like a much better idea.

However, I am kind of relieved to be done streaking. It’s been really nice to just sit around in sweatpants and watch Hulu the past two days.

One thought on “Gone and done streaking

  1. Pingback: Year End’s resolutions | Averting the Quarter-life Crisis

Leave a Reply

