The grass is always worse on the other side

If we’re into this whole “stay positive” bit, I need to think that the grass is not greener on the other side, right?

Why do we always think it’s greener on the other side of the fence?

I went to sleep early last night since I had to wake up at 5:30 this morning to finish a story before having to be at one of the high schools at 7:45 for another story. It has to do with this particular school’s restructure plan because they have failed state standardized testing for multiple years in a row. I was sitting in on an advising-type class and a senior was giving her culminating senior project presentation to a group of sophomores. She explained her “high school timeline” and what things she excelled in and what she had to work hard at. She dropped in “and then I had a child sophomore year” and went into her goal of becoming a chef and owning her own restaurant. She made it sound like having a baby while in high school was no big deal. She said it so casually. I almost thought I misheard her.

After her presentation, I got the correct spelling of her name, age and all the usual stuff a reporter should ask of the people they use in stories. I also asked her if she ever thought about dropping out or taking time off of school when she found out she was pregnant.

“No,” she said.

Everyday inspiration, every day. That’s one thing I’ve got going: Inspiring strangers.

2 thoughts on “The grass is always worse on the other side

  1. I really liked this post Kirstin. Hang in there buddy… have you thought about co-coaching a high school XC team? I can put you in the touch with Olympics coach and CK’s track coach. I know you probably don’t have enough time, but it’s a thought, I think you’d really enjoy it.

    • Thanks, Niki. The Oly coach actually came and introduced himself to me a few weeks back since we no longer have a sports reporter anymore. Coaching would be fun, not sure if I have the time though. (Plus, I’m not supposed to “play favorites” when it comes to anything). Oh, and I’ll forgive you for misspelling my name 🙂

Leave a Reply

