What do you wake up for?

I know I’m not alone in “trying to figure out what I want to do with the rest of my life.” It’s called being in your early to mid-twenties — or beyond.

A friend of mine who is in grad school studying something he thought he liked, doesn’t necessarily want to be in school doing what he is doing anymore. I asked him why he wanted to go to grad school in the first place. “I was just following the path,” he said.

He said he wants to do something where he looks forward to his day when he wakes up in the morning. I’ve never had that feeling before, he said. Then he asked me if I ever had.

I quickly thought to myself, “of course, I have!” Then, I really took the time to think about it. This past year definitely does not fall into that category. On my worst days (like Mondays,) sometimes it takes me nearly an hour until I finally get out of my bed after the alarm has gone off.

All the time before now has been consumed by school. I guess I never really woke up during my college days thinking “Wow, I am so excited to go to my interpersonal communication class today!” During the summers, I always had a job or internship and while at times they were fun, I guess I never had that sense of excitement. I know there were definitely times I hit the snooze button in the morning even during those summer months.

How about when I visit family in Hawaii? On vacation? Christmas? My golden birthday? Those do not count, was his response.

Does this state of life even exist? Although they say that your work should not consume your life, it is inevitable. 40 hours out of 168 total week hours does not seem like a lot. But, really it is. Your work is your life. And for me, it does not take a normal 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. stint. People can call me at all hours of the day. I give my personal cell phone out so I am reachable so I can get stories done.

What got me out of bed this morning? A phone call from a teacher I was trying to get a hold of for a story. She called me during her morning planning period between classes.

“Did I catch you at a bad time?”

“Oh, no. Let me just grab my notepad,” I replied as I (literally) rolled out of bed.

What gets you out of bed? What road will you follow? Or, not follow?

Leave a Reply

