Ain’t no reason why

I blasted the radio as “Pretty Girl Rock” played on my drive home from work. I confess. I am guilty of kind of liking crappy pop, rap and/or hip-hop.

Today, work ended with a public meeting on incorporating the local urban growth area into a city. It was 8:30 p.m. I had a long day. I woke up at 7 a.m. to run in the fog with cars being able to barely see me (and I them, when they didn’t have their head lights turned on.) Then I had an eye doctor appointment. Oh, and then there was work. I had two other assignments I worked out in the field on (besides the evening meeting) and that doesn’t include the time I spent in the office making phone calls. I’m not complaining, I’m just saying.

After this very busy day, I arrived home feeling very happy. I cannot pinpoint the one thing that is making me feel this way though. It’s weird because most times people become very happy when something good happens to them. For me, it is realizing that nothing bad happened today. Nothing bad has really happened in a while. My brother has a saying that is something along the lines of: You don’t have to have a reason to be happy. Just one to be sad.

It startles me that I feel content and happy right now because all this time I thought I hated my job. Several months ago I was in a dark, dark place. More on that in another blog post.

I really like my life. I may not like it every minute of every day. But, I am pretty darn happy, and I don’t have a reason why. And that’s the best reason to be happy.

Leave a Reply

